Doctorate Of Ice Cream

The IAICDV Proudly Presents The Doctorate Of Ice Cream Award

The purpose of the Doctorate of Ice Cream (ICD) is to honor individuals who have been responsible and great leaders, through their personal and business accomplishments, in the ice cream industry. To qualify for nomination, individuals must have contributed the following special attributes to the ice cream industry:

  • Dedication to the industry
  • Longevity in the industry
  • Business acumen
  • Foster learning, innovation and change
  • Team player and cooperative spirit
  • Sense of integrity and fairness

IAICDV Doctorate of Ice Cream Nominations

Nominations for the 2024 Doctorate of Ice Cream award are now open through June 5, 2024.

Submit a Nomination

2023 Inductee

Peter D'Angelo

Peter founded IntegraSys in 1996, and since then, has been a trusted advisor and technology solution provider for the many changes that have taken place in the ice cream industry over the past 30 years. He has consistently demonstrated a passion for the ice cream industry and has worked tirelessly to provide the right software technology for many IAICDV distributors and manufacturers. In addition, he has been committed to the growth of the IAICDV as an active participant, sponsor, making it possible for his employees to serve on the board, and ambassador.

2015 Inductees

Mike Johnston 

Mike was born in Taos, New Mexico on July 27, 1945. He worked in the marketing and food service industries most of his life. In 2006 he and wife Sharon became the proud owners of Southern Ice Cream Corporation, a Distributor of Premium Ice Cream and Specialty Foods in Stafford Texas. Mike was a Member and past President of the International Association of Ice Cream Distributors and Vendors. He was passionate about bettering the Ice Cream industry and was always willing to share, mentor, and volunteer.

​Mohan Thawani


Mohan’s work life included Dickie Dee Ice Cream, Good Humor, Breyers Ice Cream, Unilever Ice Cream, Avalanche Foods and most recently Supper Works! Mohan was also a long time member and a supporter of the IAICDV.

 2014 Inductee

The IAICDV is proud to announce William Greg McCarty from Blue Bunny as recipient of the 2014 Doctorate of Ice Cream.

2013 Inductees

President Chris Long proudly announced four new recipients of the ICD during the 44th Annual Convention's closing reception on November 7, 2014. The honorees were: Daniel Morales, Tom Renwald, Sr., Ed Markey, and Robert Borski, Jr.

 2012 Inductees

Steve Feldman                         Ken Schwartz


The IAICDV is pleased to announce the 2012 recipients of the Doctorate of Ice Cream (ICD) award. The honorees were: Ken Schwartz, Steve Feldman, and Bruce Shoecraft.

2011 Inductees

Leo Gage                               Ginger Shain                              Bob Kleifgen


It is an honor and privilege to announce that Ginger Shain, Leo Gage and Bob Kleifgen were the first three recipients of the Doctorate of Ice Cream (ICD) award. Their awards were presented at the 42nd Annual Convention in November 2011.